A beautiful realization

That I may very well be in love. It’s something that I have to think about, not because I don’t believe in it, but because I believe in it so strongly. I’ve always been the hopeless romantic. Even more so, I’ve always been the type who allows a portion of his personality, of himself, to rest solely in the lives of those around him. Who I am, my person, is often defined by those people I care for, those I love. And while often some people come in and some go out, there are always a certain few who remain constant. This is why the concept of being “in love” in the traditional sense is hard for me to grasp – because I am in love with so many people, not necessarily in a romantic sense though. This time it seems life has brought me the latter finally. And I just want to be constantly aware of how much of myself I let slip into this person. Additionally, this person has reinforced my ideal that, while love includes emotions and feelings and attractions, there is an element of choice, of sheer will and determination involved. I choose everyday, every moment, to love this man. Because it feels right, yes, but even more so because I want to, deeply, innately, irrevocably and unequivocally, and so I do. It feels good. It feels right. And it’s amazing to have that as a part of my life, again and yet for the first time. Something that feels both old and new at the same time. It truly is a beautiful realization…

~ by Michael O. on January 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
