Born to die…

I just recently finished reading “Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt” by Anne Rice. Towards the end of the book (it’s the first in a pair), Jesus comes to a realization – everything that is born is born with one final, concrete purpose in mind: to die. This is something that I think I realized from a very young age, and for the most part, has been an ideal with which I am comfortable.

In talking with B. and continuing to think about my own personal career path, I learned something pretty cool about myself. When I meet someone or have someone become a part of my life, I tend to not see an age, a number. I see a heart, a mind, a soul, longing to be touched by my own, and once that connection is made, then I’m sometimes made aware of how old a person is. What do these things have to do with each other? Well I’ve decided that my number one option for nursing school is to go into geriatric nursing practice. Older patients are well aware of their age – the last thing they need is a health care provider who sees only their age. So while I know that death is inevitable for myself and everyone around me, it’s nice to know that until that time comes, for me or for them, I am able to cherish the person they are, and the love the bring into this world.

~ by Michael O. on January 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
